On Breakups in Books & Songs

As I start to read Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler, which chronicles the demise of a relationship through the objects that symbolized the relationship as it development, I can’t help but think back to the big breakup of my past–my distant past, I should say; I’ve been married for seven years–that also generated a box of objects.

It seems so embarrassing to recount now, but it’s true.  As my relationship crumbled, I spent a small fortune to overnight a box of books, CDs, and other things that I thought made the oh-so-important point: You didn’t get me as well as you thought you did.  I imagine the point that was taken when the box was received was more along the lines of “you are a drama queen.”

It’s all history now, I suppose.

If you have breakups on the brain as we approach Valentine’s Day, I recommend Why We Broke Up to teens and adults based on what I’ve read so far.  You might also want to listen to The Current on February 15th starting at 6 p.m. for the greatest Breakup Songs of All Time.  You can request yours.

Check out Courtney Smith’s Record Collecting for Girls (I mentioned it in this post about women in music) for a whole chapter on breakup music complete with her own version of the stages of grief just for breakups (Angry, Sad, Begging, Kiss-off) that will help you choose your breakup song.   The right song can make a difference. Smith says, “If you listen to the right songs about relief, you can keep yourself from backsliding.  The only mix you’ll make about this guy is a playlist for yourself.  These songs are your reminders when your confidence waivers–and it will.”

My choice?  Bjork, “Army of Me”

Now back to my book…..

3 thoughts on “On Breakups in Books & Songs

  1. Pingback: Monday Morning Music with Colin Meloy « Proper Noun Blog

  2. Pingback: Happy Day After Thanksgiving! « Proper Noun Blog

  3. Pingback: 2012 in Review « Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

