If you like… Homecoming by Cynthia Voigt

homecoming

In fifth grade, I was more likely to be found reading The Baby-Sitters Club than anything remotely “literary.” I was a strong reader, but I was in it for entertainment.  (To be honest, that’s probably still true.) So back in fifth grade, when my friends were all raving about some book they’d just read, the eleven-year-old me was interested but apparently not interested enough to get beyond a chapter of Homecoming by Cynthia Voigt.  It landed squarely in the “did not finish” pile, and I went back to reading comfortable formulaic series novels.

I’m happy to report that eventually my reading tastes up-leveled to more challenging choices–like Homecoming.  To my surprise, the novel I had once dismissed as boring was anything but.  It was an epic search for a home and exploration of family.  Even as an adult, I am still drawn to novels, notably by Joyce Carol Oates and Elizabeth Strout, that take on themes of home and family.

However, one thing I learned doing reader’s advisory on the front lines of a public library is that kids and teens who ask for read-alikes are usually looking for books with similar situations.  Read-alikes for adults may focus on writing style or literary themes, but for young people, it’s all about the main plot element.

In the case of Homecoming, it’s actually pretty easy.  Kids-on-their-own is quite common in children’s literature.  You might direct readers to Runaway by Wendelin Van Draanen or Summer of the Gypsy Moths by Sara Pennypacker for examples of kids making it on their own.  They are both excellent books that I recommend often.

keepingsafetheBut the book that I would reach for is Keeping Safe the Stars by Sheila O’Connor.  I would choose it for the kids-on-their-own plot and the Northern Minnesota setting, but mostly I would choose it for the family.  The Stars, much like the Tillermans in Homecoming, are a family that will stick with you.  And, really, that’s what I’m looking for in a Homecoming read-alike.  Highly recommended.

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links.

About these ads

5 thoughts on “If you like… Homecoming by Cynthia Voigt

  1. As a child, I also liked to read series such as the “Baby-Sitter’s Club.” But after I read “Homecoming,” it instantly became one of my favorite books. I loved the characters as well as their story. Since you recommended “Keeping Safe the Stars,” i look forward to reading it! Have you read the rest of the Tillerman series?

      • Thanks! I am in currently in college working towards my bachelor’s degree in Middle Grades Education. I am trying to get up-to-date on popular young adult literature. Could you recommend any more books or authors that are “hot” right now?

      • Wonder by R.J. Palacio is very popular right now. It was one of my favorite middle grade novels from last year.

        There are so many great books being published for young people that it’s hard to choose just a few. :)

        Some authors to know: Katherine Applegate, Jennifer Holm, Rebecca Stead, Gary Schmidt

  2. Thank you so much for your help! I look forward to broadening my knowledge of young adult literature. It’s my favorite genre, but I haven’t really been reading for pleasure since I began college. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get back into it. :)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s