Thrifty Family Fun

I know we could spend a lot of money on entertainment for our little one, but why?  In the past few months, we’ve hit up family days at the Walker Art Center and the Minneapolis Institute of Arts.  And last night we did community day at the Como Park Zoo and ComoTown.  We’ve been to the zoo dozens of times as it’s always an affordable option, but on Community Day all the rides at ComoTown were half off, which meant that Ladybug got to experience the thrill of an aumsement park, and we only put out $5.  That is so my price.

She loved it of course.  We started her off pretty easy on a slow moving train where I could ride with her, but by the time we got to the spinning tea cups, you’d think she’d been riding rides her whole (short) life.  My little thrillseeker! :)

But then there are also the outings that backfire on me.  Like when we went to the MIA, and she had no interest in anything but the Family Center–a playroom with books and toys.  I admit, I was glad that I hadn’t spent a lot on that seeing as how we have books and toys at home.  But even writing that makes me feel so curmugeonly, and if there is something I am trying to avoid becoming, it is a curmugeon.  I’ll just leave it at that.  :)

3 thoughts on “Thrifty Family Fun

  1. As a curmudgeon, I feel compelled to inform you about this site:

    happytrailsclub.net/Home_Page.html

    They have good, wholesome outdoor activities often.

Leave a Reply

