Coincidences

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been catching up on old episodes of This American Life.  I recently got an ipod (Thanks, Mom!), and I’ve been devouring all the podcasts that I never had an opportunity to listen to before.  Mainly TAL and Radiolab.  Both of which, strangely enough, keep intersecting with my reading life.  Here are a few examples:

  • Just after I finished Sum by David Eagleman (also mentioned in the last post), I heard a Radiolab episode in which the opening story of the book was read.  David Eagleman has also appeared on the show in his role as neuroscientist, if I recall correctlly.
  • Kathleen Krull’s newest biography in the “Giants of Science” series, Charles Darwin, appeared on my desk not long after I listened to the Darwinvaganza podcast from Radiolab.
  • While I was reading Short Bus and mentally composing the blog post that mentions it, I listened to a Radiolab episode entitled “Diagnosis” in which a young man is not diagnosed with austism until adulthood.  The question of whether interventions at a younger age, including special ed classes, would have helped or hurt comes up.
  • I read Mamba Point by Kurtis Scaletta about a boy’s connection with a poisonous snake that bites his brother, and then I listened to a TAL episode in which a man tells a story about a snake bite incident in his childhood where he had to save the day when a man is bitten by a poisonous snake.
  • The science experiment in Kenneth Oppel’s Half Brother might seem kind of crazy, but apparently it actually happened.  So I learned in this episode of Radiolab.

Crazy, isn’t it?

**Amazon Affiliate. I receive a portion of purchases made from links on this blog.

2 thoughts on “Coincidences

Leave a Reply

