On the Wiki: Multiple Narrators in Teen Fiction

[I regularly update a wiki called Mindy’s Book Lists, where I cull the books I read–children’s, teen’s, and adult’s–into topical lists.  I’ll be highlighting various lists now and then on this blog.  ]

There are two sides to every story, or so the saying goes.

Personally, I love when the two sides come together to tell the story.  It reminds me of back in the early 2000’s.  Blogging was fairly new, and it seemed everyone was typing their lives onto the web.  Including me.  I always found it particularly fascinating to read multiple accounts of the same party or events.  One person hated the music, and another though the music made the party.  It’s all in your perspective, and I’ll admit, I loved being able to compare notes.

Since few people I know blog about their personal lives anymore (thank you facebook), I’m stuck getting my perspective fix from fiction.  David Levithan, in particular has shown a surprising affinity for multiple narrators in his fiction–even collaborating in the now famous Nick & Norah among others.  I’ve been a fan of his since I heard him speak at a Young Adult Literature conference in what must have been 2003 or 2004.  He referenced the Golden Age of YA Lit, and I went home from the conference with a new literary crush, which only intensified after I read his work.

Are We There Yet? began the multpile narrator streak with two brothers each giving their side of a European vacation.  It is a lovely introspective novel probably more of interest to twenty-something adults than to teens.  Then he moved on to collaborations.  His most recent is the brilliantly humorous & poignant Will Grayson, Will Grayson.  Two teens, same name.  Sounds cheesy.  It’s so good.

Check out the whole list.

2 thoughts on “On the Wiki: Multiple Narrators in Teen Fiction

Leave a Reply

