Drawing lines and getting perspective

The latest post on the Books in Bloom blog (where I’ll be posting about children’s books a couple times a month) is my review of Frances O’Roark Dowell’s Ten Miles Past Normal. It’s a great book, but as I say in my review:

In all honesty, I was bound to like this book. I have a secret dream of moving my family to an organic farm someday. I blog about my family life, including my three-year-old daughter who is probably going to hate it when she is in high school. And I’m married to a musician who would have loved it if his high school had a Jam Band.

This book was probably written with me in mind. ha.

On a more serious note, I thought the inclusion of Janie’s mom’s blog was really interesting.  I can imagine being mortified as a teenager at the potential for anything I say or do to end up on the Internet.  But this is well-worn territory for mom-bloggers (or whatever they want to be called these days).   I try to keep it balanced when I write about my daughter.  I don’t want to embarrass her (or her future self when her teenage friends find my posts on the Way Back Machine), but I also admit that my first thought when I saw her giant mural all over her bedroom wall was that I should take a picture and blog about it.  I resisted the urge to take a picture.  I did tweet about it.  We all have our lines.  Here is an interesting blog post about blogging about your older children.

Perhaps Ten Miles Past Normal should be required reading for moms who blog before their kids get to be teenagers.   In case we need to re-draw any lines at that point.

Leave a Reply

