Book Review: If I Stay

If I StayIf I Stay by Gayle Forman

Anything can happen.  One moment you can be enjoying a spontaneous road trip with your family.  Then next you can be having an out-of-body experience while your clinging-to-life body lies in a hospital bed.

Not a ghost story, not a tear-jerker (though it may have some appeal for fans of either.  If I Stay is the story of 17 year-old Mia in the aftermath of a car crash that kills her family and leaves her gravely injured.  She watches the efforts to save her life and we watch as the narrative seemlessly flips between the emotionally taut present and the vividly drawn memories of her family, friends, and music.  The style reminded me a bit of one of my other favorite teen novels, Dana Reinhardt’s How to Build a House.  If I Stay is easily a new favorite.

Intense.  Beautiful.  Do not miss.

Awards & Honors: 2010 Teens Top Ten, 2010 Best Books for Young Adults, Booklist Starred Review

On the Wiki: Musicians

3 thoughts on “Book Review: If I Stay

  1. Pingback: February Book Pick: Just One Day by Gayle Forman « Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

