What the sirens can mean

Minneapolis mama and designer echoed my thoughts on tornado sirens in this post in which she wrote,

“The day after the last siren, the one I did not heed, I met a new friend in the park for a playdate.  She told me the sirens went off just after her two girls fell asleep, and that, also home alone, she could not wrap her head around the logistics of waking a 3 year old and an infant and carrying them to the basement, so she didn’t.  I told her how I had outright ignored it, even with waking children, how it didn’t seem possible, somehow, for the tornado to enter the city.”

That’s how I felt too.  We heard the sirens yesterday, and we did nothing.  In our neighborhood, it barely rained.  There was no wind.  It’s hard to believe that a mere five miles away a tornado was tearing through a neighborhood.

Last year at this time, we lived in that neighborhood.  My mothers-in-law and several friends and acquaintances still live there.  No one we know what hurt, but they are still without power, cell service, and Internet service.  They have much clean-up and repair work to do.  Here are some pictures my husband took yesterday near his mom’s home:

Help is needed.  Find out how you can help here.  If you are in need of help, find out where to go here.


2 thoughts on “What the sirens can mean

  1. Mindy, I’m just catching up on LOTS of blogs, and saw this post. Thanks for linking on over to my blogs. And thanks for this and the next post with help for talking about loss!

    Heather

  2. Of course! :) Blogging about how the tornado affected us, and the ways we can talk about it with our kids felt like the least I could do. I wish I could have done more.

Leave a Reply

