Wildly Happy Read-Alouds

Ladybug helped me out with my Books in Bloom post last week, which featured Read-alouds for Your Littlest Listeners.  I wrote,

In Reading Magic Mem Fox advises parents to “Spend at least ten wildly happy minutes every single day reading aloud.”

With this quote in mind, I set out to find some happy picture books to recommend as read-alouds to Books in Bloom readers. My three-year-old very graciously agreed to help. Her job was to listen and weigh-in on the “read-aloud-ability” of the picture books I chose. You should know that she is very serious about the “wildly happy” aspect of reading.

We shared a couple of our favorite authors, Karen Beaumont and Marsha Wilson Chall, along with a few others that were new to us.    Check it out, and be sure to tell us what some of your favorite read-alouds are.

Teachers, librarians, and anyone else who reads books to groups may also be interested in my list of Great Picture Books for Groups.  They all have big, bold illustrations that work even from a distance.  Most are fun–perfect for a group storytime at a library or preschool.

As I said in my Books in Bloom post, “Whatever you choose for your next read-aloud, be sure to enjoy it. Don’t worry about counting the minutes. The important thing is the ‘wildly happy’ part.”

Leave a Reply

