The Joy of Biking

How will biking change your life?  This video from MPLS.tv’s Bike City explains everything:

In all honesty, I haven’t ridden a bike since I was a kid.  I’m not even sure how to ride a bike with the type of prosthetic arm I have now as an adult.  If anyone has ideas, I’d love to hear them!

I do love that I live in such a bike friendly city regardless of whether or not I ride.  I have ridden in a pedicab, enjoyed Open Streets Minneapolis, and as a pedestrian I share some of the safety concerns of the bicyclists in the city.

Want to inspire the next generation of bike riders?  Try Along a Long Road by Frank Viva.  This picture book follows a man on a bike through the twists and turns of a long ride along a long road through the country.  It shares the joy of passing interesting sights and stopping to meet new people.  The slightly surrealistic style of the art is realistic enough for kids to understand what is happening and unusual enough to appeal to adults who may not usually get into picture book illustrations.

The book is like the kids’ version of the video above.  It shows how riding a bike can be a meditative experience.   Highly recommended to families who ride or who want to.

3 thoughts on “The Joy of Biking

  1. Pingback: A Celebration of Design « Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

