Finding the food that loves me

I’ve spent the past few weeks slowly cutting out more and more of some of my favorite types of foods. First I gave up my usual cereal for Chex. Then I gave up pasta. Then bread.  All in the name of going gluten-free.  It’s just a trial run on the basis of my mom’s diagnosis with celiac disease.  I am generally loathe to follow diet fads, but, given the genetic link, I’m giving it a try in order to feel better.

So, of course, I’ve been perusing lots of gluten-free cookbooks lately trying to figure out what exactly I can eat.  My favorite so far has been Gluten-Free on a Shoestring.  Aside from the frugality angle, which I like, it also has more recipes that seem like things I would actually make than any other books I’d looked at.   I admit that I loved Shauna James Ahern’s Gluten-Free Girl, and her recipes seem like they would be amazing.  But I am not a gourmet cook.  I need relatively simple, yet still interesting, food.  I do, however, highly recommend Gluten-Free Girl for anyone who struggles with food issues.  It is wonderfully inspiring. As I wrote in my Library Journal review of the book: “Engaging and passionate, this book will make everyone who reads it remember the pleasure of food. ”

Back to Gluten-Free on a Shoestring, the copy I have is due back at the library tomorrow, so I suppose I will have to content myself with the author’s web site until I can get my own copy. Here is the Polenta Pizza I made from a recipe in this book:

It certainly isn’t going to replace pizza in our lives, but we’ll definitely be making it again.  :)

One thought on “Finding the food that loves me

  1. Pingback: Reflections of a Book Reviewer | Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

