Why are we here?

When I picked up the August issue of Minnesota Parent magazine, I saw some familiar names inside.  The cover story featured several local mom-bloggers, a couple of whom I’d been reading for a while and a couple who were new to me.  It is an interesting article that has me thinking about my own blog.  Heather of the Extraordinary Ordinary offered this advice in a sidebar:

“Know what your purpose is. A diary or scrapbook of sorts? To grow a readership? To open doors to other adventures? To practice writing? Then simply remind yourself of that passion and stick to it, see it through.”

I wondered: Do I know what my purpose is?

I began as a book blogger.  I posted book review after book review.  My only goal was to keep better track of the books I read, but it wasn’t long before I connected with a bigger world.  Soon I was involved with the Children’s and Young Adult Bloggers’ Literary Awards, and I attended the first KidLitCon in Chicago.  I was connecting with authors, librarians, and readers in a way that I never anticipated. It was awesome.

Then my daughter was born, and my world grew in a different direction.  The time I had available to blog shrank, and I had to ask myself if I was still interested.  The honest answer was that I wasn’t interested in just posting book reviews anymore.  Other blogs were already doing that–better.  If I was going to keep this up, it had to be different.

That was how the new (and improved!) Proper Noun Blog was born. It’s more eclectic, but books remain at its core.  I don’t want my blog to be about just one thing any more than I want to just be one thing myself.  I am more than a mom.  More than a librarian or reader.  These common nouns can’t contain it all themselves.

I’m Mindy.  I write.  Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Why are we here?

  1. I love the connections I’ve made via my blog…but the reason I started doing it almost 4 years ago remains the same…a record of sorts for my kiddos! I think it’s ok to use your platform for lots of different things….just as long as it stays fun for you!

  2. Thanks for the comments!

    My purpose for blogging has definitely shifted from keeping track of the books I read to keeping a record of how all sorts of media and more has connected with my family with the hope that our experience might help others. :)

Leave a Reply

