Zinefest 2011

This year’s zinefest was different for me.  Instead of popping in to browse the tables for an hour or so, I was sitting at a table for most of the afternoon watching people walk by.  I was grateful to be next to some very interesting tables.  On one side there was this:

As you might imagine, it attracted a fair amount of attention.  Some people were confused about whether they got to take a penny or had to give one, but most got it and were delighted.  I was  surprised at how few people asked about what was going to happen to the thoughts.  In case anyone reading is wondering, the thoughts will be immortalized in zine form to be sold at next year’s zinefest.  If you need one reason to come back next year, that’s it.   I am sure that Monica will be doing something very interesting.  I picked up her children’s story “The Land Sick Pirate.”  It’s very cute, and I think that Ladybug will like it.

The table to my left was also quite eye-catching.  Tiffany, the artist behind Hyena Zine, had several handmade hyenas decorating her space:

The adorable hyenas were accompanied by comics that satirize relationships.  Highly recommended for anyone interested in feminist issues.

I also traded for a zine by illustrator Aimee Pijpers about people who ride the bus.  As a regular bus commuter, I know many of the people/types profiled in this small zine.  I look forward to the second installment.   Greer Lawson was giving away copies of her zine A Bunch of Different Kinds of Ponies, which is rather amusing.

The zinesters involved in the fest contributed to the How-To Encyclopedia, which includes lots of great information.  Zines aren’t just for poetry and personal expression.   They can be useful resources too. I contributed a page with tips for talking to kids about people with physical disabilities or differences.  One of my suggestions was, of course, read books about people who are different.  I directed people to my wiki for suggestions.  Here is the list for those who want to get started now before their kids start asking (or if you just want to explore some interesting books).

Happy reading!

I had the same zines for sale at the fest as I did back in July at Genrebeast.  The most popular item was What People Say, which is a zine about the things people have said to me about my prosthetic arm.   I got some good feedback, and I feel even more inspired to write and create zines.  Thank you to everyone involved in the 2011 Twin Cities Zinefest for a great afternoon.

I’m already looking forward to next year!  Meanwhile my zines are available for online purchase here.

 

 

One thought on “Zinefest 2011

  1. Pingback: Zinefest 2012 « Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

