The Last Block Party of the Year

My weekend had an unexpected baby-sitter for my kiddo, which meant I was able to go to the 274 Music Fest at Nick and Eddie.  I had listed it as one of my local music highlights of the fall, but I wasn’t sure I’d be able to go.  It turned out to be a beautiful night for an outdoor concert and a beautiful night for Ladybug to go to Grandma’s house.

Gimme Noise had some great things to say about the headliner, Skoal Kodiak, and they did put on an intense performance as usual.  But my personal highlight of the show was Gospel Gossip.  They recently appeared on Break Through Radio TV, who described them as “a noisy, shimmering brand of post shoe-gaze rock and roll.”  Does it get better than that?

Me & My Arrow was another personal highlight with its orchestral pop that fills the stage with people and sound.    Check it out in this video from a show at the Turf Club back in January:

I attempted to tweet the fest, so see #274musicfest for more highlights.  I’m sad to see festival season go, but this was a great way to say good-bye to a great year.

One thought on “The Last Block Party of the Year

  1. Pingback: Friday Find: Gospel Gossip | Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

