What Women Have Done

A few weeks ago, I wrote a post about my daughter’s perception of princesses and my worry that it reflected on her perception of what women can do.  So I must admit that I was pleased to see this year’s Nobel Peace Prize go to three women fighting for change.  These are the examples I want to share with my daughter as she grows up–not that these women are the first to win.

This article talks about the heroines of the Nobel Peace Prize.  It mentions that at the banquet for the first woman who received the  prize in 1906, the chairman spoke “about the great influence of women in history and how they could change the ideas of war and give men higher aims.”  It was another twenty-six years before the next woman won the prize.

This year, though, the prize was specifically awarded for “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work.”  It seems significant to me, and I am excited for sharing moments like this with my daughter when she’s older.  Those with daughters older than mine might want to take this opportunity to talk about women’s lives around the world.  Perhaps a book like Nasreen’s Secret School: A True Story From Afghanistan could open the discussion.  Or another book from the Amelia Bloomer Project book list.

Unless the princesses are creating a safer, more peaceful world, I don’t really want to hear about it.  :)

Leave a Reply

