Monday Morning Music: Holiday Edition

There are a couple of local music stories that have people talking recently.  First, Bon Iver is up for a few Grammy’s, and that has prompted some people to wonder who Bon Iver is exactly.  If you are one of those people who doesn’t know Bon Iver, seriously, take a listen.  It is so good.  Second, Polica has announced a CD release show on Valentine’s Day 2012 at First Avenue.  Listen to “Wandering Star” here.  However, as exciting as those bits of news are, that’s not what I want to talk about today.  My topic is much more timely.

It is now officially December.  Thanksgiving is over.  The Christmas tree is up, and we can pull out our Christmas music without feeling guilty about it.  Problem is: We have no Christmas music.  That’s what happens when you don’t grow up celebrating Christmas (strict religious childhood = no Christmas or birthdays).  I spent my life quietly daydreaming during holiday songs at school or just blocking out the music at stores from mid-November through December, so, now that I do choose to celebrate the holiday with my daughter, I’m at a loss.  In all honesty, I can barely sing “Happy Birthday” with the right melody, and Christmas songs are an even bigger mystery to me.

I’ve been exploring my holiday music options, and so far, we’ve opted for the MPR Classical Holiday Stream for the most part.  But I’d love some suggestions from the audience.  What Christmas songs are “must listens” to you?  Build my collection, for my daughter’s sake. :)

Meanwhile, here is a song from one of my favorite band’s Christmas record to get you in the holiday spirit.

6 thoughts on “Monday Morning Music: Holiday Edition

  1. John Lennon’s “Happy Xmas (War is Over)” is a must.

    I saw the Three Tenor’s perform “Silent Night” on SNL (of all places) about 15 years ago and I thought it was amazing. I bought it off iTunes. Here’s a similar rendition on YuoTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPlxBow16SA

    We also own a Xmas CD from Curtis and Loretta – two local folk musicians. Here’s their site: http://www.curtisandloretta.com/

    “White Wine in the Sun” is a beautiful song that resonates with our godless heathen family, even though I’ve never actually enjoyed white wine in the sun on Xmas day. Here’s a version by Kate Miller-Heidke: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_IjhPpsIm8

    And if you need something slightly less reverential, I suggest…

    and

  2. The New Standards and Friends Holiday Show! You can get some sense of it here: http://minnesota.publicradio.org/radio/services/the_current/artists/new-standards/. They also have an album called Candy Cane that’s on our holiday rotation.

    The Barenaked Ladies do a version of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen with Sarah McLachlan that I love.

    My husband has Christmas albums by Julie Andrews and by Nat Cole. I cannot remember the exact titles, but they are also lovely.

    Oh, and the Rudolph and Grinch and Charlie Brown Christmas soundtracks… And that covers our favorites.

  3. I’m always torn about the “not a Christian Rock band with Christian overtones” Pedro the Lion. There are some really great covers that they’ve done of holiday songs that make good background music…

  4. Pingback: Keeping Christmas Simple | Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

