Friday Finds: Hanukkah, Best of 2011 lists, and more

It’s been a busy week, but I’ve managed to pull together some interesting stuff for you:

  • Hanukkah started this week.  If you, like me, are pretty clueless about the holiday you can get some details over at Wendy Thomas Russell’s Holiday Cheat Sheet for parents who want to explain what the hell Hanukkah is about to their kids.  Once you know all about the celebration, you might be interested in a local celebration: Hanukrush.  Minneapolis band, Dream Crusher (which I blogged about here), has put together nine nights of local music awesomeness at Cause.  Watch the promo video here.
  • I’m not sure if I love or hate best-of-year lists, but ’tis the season!  I posted my Top 10 of 2011 in kidlit (though I sneaked one real, actual grown up book on there by saying it had appeal to teens) on my employer’s blog and my colleagues are also posting theirs.  If you are interested in what a bunch of librarians like, it’s your lucky day!   In non-book best-of lists, I appreciated Citypages’ 2011 Artists of the Year list, which includes a wide range of artists, musicians, etc.
  • The good news for the library world is that it looks like school libraries will be getting federal funding after all.  This is a win for students and for librarians, like me, who would really love to have jobs.  :)
  • Finally, I swear I am not obsessed with hands just because I am missing one. (What?!)  It’s just that Brain Pickings can make anything seem interesting, even a book all about hands.  Seriously.  Read the post and tell me you are not intrigued.  It seems John Napier’s Hands is about more than just the appendage.  It’s about art, science, and creativity.  Pardon me, I’m off to the library….

For more interesting stuff, find me on Facebook,  Twitter, and Google+.

Leave a Reply

