Friday Finds: Fairy Tales, Social Networking for Librarians, and Weekend Plans

Some cool links for you from my week:

  • Cloaked in Red by Vivian Vande Velde is a collection of short stories that re-imagine Little Red Riding Hood in different ways.

    I’ve loved fairy tales for ages, so I listened to the recent MPR show about them (and their current popularity on television and in movies) with interest.  Did you know that Little Red Riding Hood is about rape?  I did not.  Brain Pickings also has fairy tales on the brain, but they are talking about fairy tales with architecture.  Unexpectedly cool.

  • If you are on GoodReads, you can now follow my reading for the year.  So far I have two books on my 2012 shelf.
  • Speaking of social networks, Pinterest has been a topic of discussion at work as my colleagues have been talking about how they use this visual linkfest, so it seemed appropriate that I ran across this post yesterday: Pinterest for Librarians.
There is a lot going on this weekend for Twin Citians making plans:

For more interesting stuff, find me on Facebook,  Twitter, and Google+.

5 thoughts on “Friday Finds: Fairy Tales, Social Networking for Librarians, and Weekend Plans

  1. Okay, you had me at you listen to MPR. A friend in Minnesota has turned me on to MPR, and I listen online (especially when she emails and says, “Turn on MPR! They’re talking about books!”)

    Now I’m going to explore the rest of your blog! (I’m visiting from the Comment Challenge.)

    • I love MPR! I listen all the time, and I blog about what I hear fairly frequently. :)

      I am also loving the Comment Challenge! I’ve found so many cool blogs so far. It’s fun. :)

Leave a Reply

