If you like… The Hunger Games

I felt like I was the last person in the kidlit/library world to read The Hunger Games trilogy, but at this point it seems everyone in the world has read it–even those who don’t often read teen fiction.  I think this is awesome, of course.  All the better for me to recommend more teen fiction to all my friends who loved the series and need something to read while they are waiting for the movie.

Without further ado, here are my suggestions:

  • For post-apocalyptic weirdness: I liked Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien, which is about a young girl whose parents are mysteriously whisked away into “the enclave.” She tries to find out more about what happens and learns a lot about the realities behind the weird post-apocalyptic system they’ve set up.  The sequel, Prized, is almost better than the first book, in my opinion.
  • For futuristic romance: It doesn’t get better than Matched by Ally Condie.  It is set in a future where young people are “matched” by the government with the person they will marry, who runs pretty much everything in a really creepy way, but a mistake with Cassia’s matching ceremony gets her thinking about what other mistakes they might have made.  It will also be a trilogy.
  • For the stuck on a spaceship with a possibly crazy leader angle: Definitely try Across the Universe by Beth Revis.  In this one, Amy and her parents are frozen on a spaceship traveling to a far away planet they are supposed to colonize, but Amy is unfrozen a bit early–like fifty years early–and things are really weird on the ship.  The sequel is out today, by the way.  And I’m pretty sure this one will be a trilogy as well.
  • For all the action: Uglies by Scott Westerfeld is an oldie-but-a-goodie, but everyone is talking about Legend by Marie Lu as the book for Hunger Games fans.  I have yet to read it, but I want to. Here’s the trailer:

There are so many more dystopias for teens (and adults).  What are some of your favorites?

10 thoughts on “If you like… The Hunger Games

  1. I was late to the Hunger Games party, too, but I actually didn’t like it too much. I think with all the hype, I unconsciously set high expectations that it fell short of reaching.

    A much better dystopian read I’d recommend is DIVERGENT.

  2. An oldie but a goodie — The Giver by Lois Lowry. I reread a year or so ago and was blown away by all the stuff I’d missed the first time through.

    PS – I was late to the Hunger Games party too. ;)

  3. Pingback: If you like… Ender’s Game « Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

