Friday Finds: National Craft Month, The Universe, & My Weekend Picks

I’ll start off with another confession, though two Fridays in a row is a bit much, I know, but bear with me. Here goes: I’m not crafty.  This might not seem like a big deal except I was raised crafty.  My mom crochets beautiful afghans, and my dad does all sorts of woodworking things.  They spent a few years on the regional craft show circuit, and I’ve tried to get my mom to open an Etsy shop many times. With that kind of heritage behind me, I should be crafty, right? I, however, have about the same crafticity level as my 4 year-old. It’s too bad.  Ladybug loves stories like Shoe-la-la and Crafty Chloe.  I wouldn’t be surprised if crafticity skips a generation.  

I’m fairly content being a craft-appreciator for the most part, and it’s National Craft Month, so I thought I’d share a couple of my favorite Etsy shops for your browsing pleasure.

  • Bookshelves of Doom isn’t just a kidlit blog, it’s also an Etsy shop filled with book related crafty items.  Right now she has pendants and brooches made with vintage literary stamps.

  • Water Nymph has all sorts of lovely jewelry, including this lovely ring my honey gave me for Annibirthmas:

Unrelated to crafts entirely, this video is too good not to share.  (via Intelligent Life)

Twin Cities Weekend Picks:

Leave a Reply

