In the spirit of kindness

You may have noticed that posts have slowed down a bit on the blog recently, and it’s likely to stay that way for a while.  I’m getting used to a new work schedule with more hours, and I will have less time to devote to writing in the near future.

I did, however, have time to contribute a post to a great Twin Cities blog about volunteerism and kindness: The Blogunteer.  My post, Don’t Stare, offers tips for people and parents on talking to people with disabilities or other physical differences.  I have more information and answers about my experience with a physical difference on Fake Arm 101.

In the spirit of kindness and volunteerism, here are some books you might share with your kids to talk about behavior and giving back.

I have an upcoming post about kids & manners in which I’m going to talk about The Golden Rule and Do Unto Otters.  I referenced The Cloud Spinner‘s princess in a post last week, but I originally checked the book out of the library for its connection to Earth Day and reduction of consumption.  But Because of You by B.G. Hennessy is probably the “must read” book in this stack on the subject of kindness and social responsibility.

There are more great children’s book recommendations on Doing Good Together‘s Kinder Book Club.

 

What books or experiences have resonated with you or your kids as you have tried to create a sense of social responsibility or kindness in your family?

2 thoughts on “In the spirit of kindness

  1. These are great books! I found that my son really responded to books like Aliki’s “Feelings” and “Manners.” He’d want to read them over and over so he could process the concepts. Looking forward to your upcoming post!

  2. Pingback: Thursday 3: Random Acts of Kindness « Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

