My Neighbor’s Garden

When we moved into our house, I told myself I would plant a garden.  That’s one of the biggest perks of having a yard, and I love garden-fresh produce.  It’s tasty.  It’s good for the environment.  Why is everyone not gardening? I thought.  Despite these thoughts, a garden never seemed to materialize.

Then we down-sized to a yardless apartment, and I enthusiastically researched ways to use my limited space to grow my own food.  I daydreamed about window farming for a while before I moved on to the much more realistic idea of having a simple herb garden in my window.  Totally do-able, right?

We are just starting our third year in our apartment, and I have no plants at all, much less a garden of any sort.  I can’t help but think about my lack of garden every time I walk by the small raised-bed garden in the tiny patch of green in front of my building.  Good on you, neighbor.  Maybe next year, I’ll try that too.

One thought on “My Neighbor’s Garden

  1. Come on, garden! You can do it. I spent the past 4 summers in an apartment (not counting this one), and for three of those years, I had tomatoes and other produce growing out on my deck. The fun thing about keeping your garden in pots is that you can tell people you have a pot garden.
    But yourself a basil plant and snip off a leaf for your salads and pastas. It’s a good start. Plus they’re hardy plants, so you don’t have to baby them.

Leave a Reply

