On the first day of school

Today I dropped my daughter off at her new preschool classroom.  I hovered in the door way along with several other parents until a teacher shooed us away.  “They’re going to be fine.  Go!”  she smiled at us, but she spoke firmly enough that we all scattered.

My daughter, of course, was already making friends.  She waved at me with a nonchalance that made me sad and proud at the same time.  It seems too cliche to say that I can’t believe she’s going to school, but honestly, a lot of parenting seems a bit cliche.  It’s all been done before.  My reluctance to leave my daughter in a big, scary (to me) public school when she seems way too little to be there without me?  I’m not the first to feel like this, and I won’t be the last.

Despite any hesitation on my part, I know my kiddo will be fine.  She’s ready.

Speaking of back-to-school, here are some inspiring words on the value of public education from John Green because we should be less stupid together.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “On the first day of school

  1. Pingback: Thursday 3: Dads in Picture Books | Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

