Discovering the Stories in Paper

June is still.

The June page of my Nikki McClure calendar on the wall

I flipped the page on my Nikki McClure calendar to see a field dancing in sunlight. This will be a good month, I thought.

I have long been fascinated by what can be done with a piece of paper, and Nikki McClure’s paper cutting art is among my favorites. There is something particularly beautiful in the way that taking small pieces away creates a work of art.

From Nikki McClure’s web site

Her stories are simple, in the best way. Few words on the pages let the art tell the story in a way that makes the book something more than simply a book. It’s an invitation to look at what’s around us and ask questions, to discover what we’ve been missing, and turn pages when we are ready to move forward.

Cover of Mama, Is It Summer Yet? by Nikki McClure

Her work has me asking myself, “What will these hands make?”

Cover of What Will These Hands Make by Nikki McClure

Perhaps June will be still. Perhaps it will dance.

Author: Mindy R

I'm a librarian, mom to a nonbinary teen, and a congenital amputee. I blog about books, music, and life in Minneapolis.

Leave a comment