Monday Morning Music with Sakura and Kero

I have been a fan of Cindy Ivy since Kloey. Back in the late ’90s, her powerful voice sang out in the lo-fi, twee that was Kloey. I loved it. Both Kloey records played on repeat for me for a long time. Later she fronted the shoegaze band HighTV and the feminist garage twee group Puff Puff. Now she’s back with an experimental electronic album with her partner under the name Sakura and Kero.

The ambient music mixed with Cindy Ivy’s thoughtful, reflective–sometimes confessional–lyrics are well worth the listen. For me, the last song on the record, Getaway Car, is the one that grabs me the most. The groove might make you want to dance a bit. Enjoy.

Author: Mindy R

I'm a librarian, mom to a nonbinary teen, and a congenital amputee. I blog about books, music, and life in Minneapolis.

Leave a comment