Creating a Reading Space

Now that my kiddo is four years old, we are thinking about kindergarten.  My mom sent us a Success by 6 calendar from my hometown United Way, and we have been loving the activities for each day and the month’s theme.  January’s theme is books, specifically creating a reading space for kids that is comfortable and inviting for them.

Since I joined Pinterest, I have been pinning and liking lots of reading spaces for kids and adults.  Here are a few of my favorites:

Source: flickr.com via Stephanie on Pinterest

 

I like to read by a window on sunny days, so the last photo is my dream.  The reading spaces in our apartment are more modest than these, though.  We have a rocking chair and a bookshelf in my kiddo’s room.  She has a very full shelf thanks to my mom.  We’re still working on keeping them put away.  I usually find stacks of books in her bed.  Sometimes she’ll even fall asleep still holding a book.  I wonder where she gets that from……. :)

Are you on Pinterest? Let’s connect!

Want to read more about spaces for kids? Read this guest post about Creating a Play Space for Preschoolers.

8 thoughts on “Creating a Reading Space

  1. Those reading spaces are definitely drool-worthy! I especially like the set-up of #1, but #3 has its appeal, as well.

    I see nothing wrong with falling asleep with companion books (I have slept with books many times! lol ) I’d be more worried if the books were in pristine condition on the shelves, and never moved from their places.

    That activities calendar sounds great!

  2. Pingback: School Tools & Project Spaces « Proper Noun Blog

  3. Pingback: 2012 in Review « Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

