Celebrating Farmers Markets

This week, August 7th through 13th, is Farmers Market Week.  Here are some things you might do to celebrate:

  • Visit a market in a different neighborhood.  I love my local market. It’s small, but it feels like “our” market.  But we always mean to get over to one of the larger markets in Minneapolis.  Perhaps this is the week.
  • Try something new.  I’m interested in trying one of the food vendors that frequent the markets locally, but it would also be fun to try to vegetable that we rarely choose.
  • Support local artisans.  There are several artisans at my local market that I plan to patronize before the season ends. (Lefthand Originals, I’m looking at you.)
  • Get the kids involved.  It wouldn’t be difficult to set up a farmers market scavenger hunt to keep the kids entertained while you do your shopping.
  • Read about it! I’d love to revisit To Market To Market by Nikki McClure with Ladybug.  It is a lovely book about a trip to a farmers market that talks about where the foods (and other items) come from and how they got to the market.  It is my favorite way to celebrate Farmers Market Week, but what else would you expect from a children’s book geek like me? :)   I’d also recommend the book to visual artists as Nikki McClure’s illustrations are very cool.  This video has more on her process:
3 thoughts on “Celebrating Farmers Markets

  1. Pingback: Twin Cities Weekend (August 12-14) « Proper Noun Blog

Leave a Reply

